The Election Committee is the shareholders’ body responsible for submitting to the Annual General Meeting the names of candidates to serve as Chairman at the Meeting and Chairman and other members of the Board, as well as proposing fees and other compensations to be paid to the Board members. In the years in which Volvo elects auditors, the Election Committee presents proposals for the election of auditors and proposals for fees to be paid to the auditors based on the preparations carried out by Volvo’s Audit Committee. In addition, the Election Committee, in accordance with prevailing instructions for Volvo’s Election Committee, presents pro­posals for members of the Election Committee for the following year.

In accordance with the aforementioned instructions, the Election Committee shall meet as often as required for the Committee to be able to fulfill its duties.

The Election Committee’s proposal shall be presented to Volvo in sufficient time to be included in the notice to attend the Annual General Meeting and to be published on Volvo’s website at the same time. In conjunction with the notice to attend the Annual General Meeting being published, the Election Committee shall, among other duties, comment on whether those persons who are proposed to be elected as Board members are to be considered as independent in relation to the company and company management as well as to major shareholders in the company and further to comment on their material assignments and holding of shares in Volvo. Moreover, the Committee shall report on how it conducted its work.

In accordance with existing instructions, the Annual General Meeting shall select five members to serve on the Election Committee, of whom four shall represent the largest shareholders in the company, in terms of the number of votes, who have expressed their willingness to participate. In addition, one of the members shall be the Chairman of the AB Volvo Board. Additionally, the Election Committee can offer other larger shareholders to appoint one representative as a member of the Election Committee. If such an offer is made, it should be directed in turn to the largest shareholder in terms of voting rights not already being represented on the Election Committee. The number of members on the Election Committee, however, may not exceed seven.

In accordance with its instructions, Volvo’s 2011 Annual General Meeting resolved to appoint the following individuals as members of the Election Committee: Volvo’s Chairman Louis Schweitzer, Jean-Baptiste Duzan, representing Renault s.a.s., Carl-Olof By, representing AB Industrivärden, Håkan Sandberg, representing Svenska Handelsbanken, SHB Pension Fund, SHB Employee Fund, SHB Pensionskassa, and Oktogonen, and Lars Förberg, representing Violet Partners LP. The Election Committee appointed Carl-Olof By as Chairman.